Ermelo Rally fatal for Rally Championship hopes

Well done to AC and Nico.

The Bulletin News

Drama at the Ermelo rally!
With Team Guy Botterill and Simon Vacy-Lyle facing off against Team AC Potgieter and Nico Swartz for the championship honours, it was bound to be a tough race.
Team AC was plagued with problems and mishaps from the first stage.
During stage one, AC reversed into a farm gate that was lying around that ruptured the VW’s brake lines. Team AC had to fix the tube between stage one and two as there were no service breaks. They arrived 5 minutes late and was penalised with 50 seconds.
At a later stage, they hit a small berm on the side of the road that bumped the rubber completely of the rim.
As they were trying to replace the wheel the veld caught fire and AC and Nico had to push the car off the grass. A large section of veld was lost in the fire. The engine then failed to start due to the smoke.
On another stage Team, AC managed to claw back a number of seconds as they raced at neck-breaking speed down the stage. They caught up with two cars on that stage.
Guy also had some car problems but managed to get spares from their teammates.
Guy Botterill and Simon Vacy-Lyle were worthy winners and were crowned National Champions for the 5th year in a row. AC Potgieter and Nico Swartz ended second in the Championship.
Well done to AC and Nico. We are very proud of your achievements and we are backing you for the 2019 season!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here